Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Halcyon Veil / HALC012
  • Add City to your favourites
  • Add Halcyon Veil to your favourites
1 review | 5 people love this record: be the 6th!

Rabit's hotbed of experimental grime and other hypermodern digital distractions welcomes the first appearance for Vancouver-based artist City. Abstract song structures abound, but there is a strong sense of purpose that guides these crystalline shards of bass, beat and buzz around the frequency range in the spirit of that most current and ambiguous of styles – post-club music.

  • LP £14.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • HALC012
  • HALC012 / Black vinyl LP on Halcyon Veil. Mastered and cut by Matt Colton

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for City - A Goal is an Image - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



A Goal is an Image by City
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 05 October 2017

‘A Goal is an Image’ is the first full, proper album on Rabit’s Halcyon Veil album and is well placed as a strong representation of the label's aesthetic. City aka Vancouver artist Will Ballantyne’s sound on this album really encapsulates the emotive core that exists within the digital chaos that can be found in much of the music that Rabit curates for his imprint. The sound worlds that City conjures are both surreal/hyperreal and tangibly realistic with the organic/synthetic line often blurred through use of field recordings, blasts of fractured mechanical rhythm, whopping elephant like sub bass, elegant harpsichord and so on. There’s a few zinging and spiralling, hand-me-down/re-purposed trance riffs in the style of Lorenzo Senni that don’t resonate with me, but there are plenty of really cool little robotic sounds and all sorts of interesting noises pinging around that still make this well worth checking out.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.