Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

More Than Machine is an old 90’s track by Runningonair that was never actually finished or released, featuring drum loops and computer-voice text. Rather than leaving it to gather dust for eternity though, the track has not only been finished, it has been handed out to stacks of interesting artists (from Howlround and Farmer Glitch to Kemper Norton and Clive Henry) for stylistically varied remixing! Only sixty copies around..

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • CD £8.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 90 ?
  • OPR-CD001 / Limited digipak CDr on Runningonair incl. Ekoplekz, Olan Mill, Farmer Glitch, Howlround, Guy Birkin, Kemper Norton etc. Edition of 60 copies
  • Includes download code
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


More Than Machine Remixes by Various
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 21 November 2017

Here we have a ‘90s experiment rediscovered and brought bang up-to-date, with the help of a few reworks from producer friends, many familiar names and a few less so. More Than Machine began life as a humble series of drum loops -- unfinished, languishing on a computer for two decades and now awoken from hibernation somewhat rudely by: Kemper Norton, Olan Mill, Ekoplekz and others.

Kemper Norton stretches out the analog synth and string textures to create a piece of high-tensile ambient: tense, unnerving in atmosphere and steely in structure. Lo Five adds layers of melodic strums and chimes to the staccato drum patterns, and Stephen Christopher Stamper summons up some dusty old zombies of rave for some ambient keyboard stabs in a dark, dank old basement. I have a feeling it’s all about to kick off, so it’s time this reviewer got the hell out of here and found some piano music.

Anyhoo, there are a total of 17 tracks here, each with a flavour and a personality of its own… You’re bound to find more than a handful of tracks to tickle your sonic tastebuds. Plus, all profits from the release go to Freedom United, an organisation dedicated to challenging and fighting modern day slavery around the world. So, good and worthy to boot.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.