Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Take doesn't mean 'take' but instead is the Norwegian word for 'mist' or 'fog' - the sort of stuff I'd imagine London based composer Guy Andrews saw a lot of on his trip to Scandinavia. He is known for creating dark atmospheres and brooding soundscapes and here works with Alev Lenz, a composer whose music has recently been used on 'Black Mirror'.  

  • LP £12.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • HTH077
  • HTH077 / LP on Houndstooth

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Guy Andrews - Tåke - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Tåke by Guy Andrews
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 11 October 2017

On which Guy Andrews takes at least two steps away from his usually more aggressive and banging style of techno, for his particular take on post-rock and electronica-noir. Although in this case, the title of his new LP, ‘Tåke’, is Norwegian for ‘fog’ -- something which Andrews saw a lot of when he was visiting Bergen and its surrounding fjords, and which was the cause of his delayed flight home to London. The misty countryside was inspiration for some dark textures.

Tremolos and vibratos of strings introduce the record on ‘The Clearing’, and the track introduces the caressing voice of Alev Lenz (last heard on the soundtrack to ‘Black Mirror’). ‘Trails’ brings in exhilarating rock guitars and hammering techno beats. I don’t know if Andrews had to run away from some shadowy beast in the forest, but that’s what it sounds like. Glitchy beats and guitar riffage with bursts of drum propel the rugged terrain of ‘Fjell’. ‘It Cannot Surface’ is a brooding ambient interlude, before flipping the record and Alev Lenz is back on the eerily haunting ‘Feelings’ (track B1). On ‘There Was Nothing You Could Have Done’, synths and violins weave amongst each other for impressively sinister impact.


Guy Andrews - It Cannot Surface [Houndstooth] - YouTube


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.