Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

2 reviews | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Duvet-strength warm ambient from Wil Bolton, whose previous records for the likes of Eilean, Home Normal and Sound in Silence have served as handcrafted comfort. Mastered by dronefather Ian Hawgood, Night Paths sees a return to Bolton's setup of processed guitar, synths and loops, all coming together in one woozy, snoozy textural mass.

  • CD £10.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 110 ?
  • HV043 / CD on Hidden Vibes, housed in a burgundy paper sleeve with silver lettering. Edition of 100 copies
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Night Paths by Wil Bolton
2 reviews. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 05 September 2017

Following a slew of lush and tranquil releases for the likes of Hibernate, Sound In Silence, Dronarivm and Home Normal, comes Wil Bolton’s latest missive from the depths of his duck-down duvet. This release, on Kiev’s tiny Hidden Vibes label (operated by Oleksiy of Endless Melancholy) is appropriately housed in a burgundy envelope with silver lettering. (And it’s charming me so much that I was a full 4 minutes into the cd before I typed that last sentence.)

The deep red hue of the sleeve seems indicative of the extra decadence the colour implies, with its evocation of roses, wine and chocolates on Winter’s nights snuggled in with logs crackling in the fireplace. I’m pretty sure that’s what Wil had in mind with Night Paths, but I could be completely wrong. For this disc, Mr Bolton has returned to the slowly unspooling, moonlit sound of the guitar -- channeling those Eno vignettes and adding extra synthy gloriousness: gauzy textured loops abound in waves. Ian Hawgood mastered the recordings, for that little bit more droning sumptuousness. Did I mention this is a deeply relaxing listen? Well, ‘tis… A fluffy little munchkin of a record.

6/10 Brian Customer rating (no review), 5th October 2017



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.