Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Heavenly / HVNLP143CD / HVNLP143R
  • Add Heavenly to your favourites
1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

What is it now???? Leave us alone. Yet another album from King Gizzard but this time with a twist. This one is a collaboration with Stones Throw hipster troupe Mild High Club in which the two bands jam out an exploratory album which is influenced by Ethiopian music, Miles Davis and Tropicalia. Never sit still this lot so when you don't like one album, you can be reassured that there'll be another one along in a minute. 

  • LP £15.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 155 ?
  • HVNLP143R / Heavyweight vinyl LP on Heavenly, housed in rigid tip-on sleeve
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • HVNLP143CD / CD on Heavenly

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Sketches Of Brunswick East by King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard With Mild High Club
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

9/10 gbar Customer review, 4th December 2017

Suffice to say it’s been a busy year for King Gizzard! Releasing four albums already (with one yet to come at the time of writing), they’ve made sure that each release is different than the last one.

Collaborating with jazz troupe Mild High Club, album number three of 2017 ‘Sketches of Brunswick East’ is a jazzy rock affair (with the album title being a nod to Miles Davis’ ’Sketches of Spain’, and the music certainly shows. “Countdown” has an intro that’s almost in the style of Marvin Gaye and Isaac Hayes: psychedelia mixed with jazz and at times bossa nova. Songs such as “Tezeta”, “Dusk To Dawn on Lygon Street” and “The Spider and Me” are experimental jazz mantras that harkens back to kaleidoscopic 1960s psychedelic pop.

Each song on this album refers in some way to distant locations and Middle Eastern/tropical sounds, and repeated listens unveil many details and so many little things that makes the record more interesting on each subsequent listen. King Gizzard have always been open to experimentation, and they’ve certainly been allowed to do so with countless releases from their back catalogue. “Sketches of Brunswick East” is no exception, and the end result of this jazzy venture is absolutely relaxing: music that is not only good for the mind, but also relaxes you at the same time.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.