Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Don't Delay, bringers of the excellent AEVA 12" from earlier this year, are back for a second round of wax disc pressing. This time, it's courtesy of Tongue, a combo of 2 trombones, vocals and electronics, bringing the elephant sound, delicate drones and choral-electronic duets to your ears. Anything could happen.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • 12" £10.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 110 ?
  • DD002 / 12" EP on Don't Delay
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


How Nice It Is by Tongue
2 reviews. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
9/10 Robin Staff review, 13 September 2017

Nicely weirded, Tongue. What this band make out of a struggle is marvellous: their holy trinity of trombones, vocals and electronics make for an EP of writhing, half-completed pop music, as if these songs were wading through the bad underwater level of a wonderful video game.

“How Nice It Is” offers languishing trombone notes and a swarm of vocal coos, both stomped on by beats that leave the footprint of a dinosaur on proceedings. It sounds both delicate and unrooting, recalling the newer electronic developments of Adult Jazz with kinda glorious results. “You Say / Hallelujah Me” sees a short, snappy aphorism on the horn loop into a majestic calamity of fanfare noise not dissimilar from Sufjan Stevens’ work on ‘The Age of Adz’ -- the record makes a real racket out of its sparse framework, this track burrowing itself into near-techno bleat and a euphoric looped outro.

Flip it and the band continue their gleeful disregard for the musical constitution, pushing their instruments onto a cantankerous drone of horns that recalls Yoshi Wada at full blast. Then you get “Thanks Being”, where they segue into a marching movement before quickly dovetailing it back into the trombone’s booming, tectonic bass notes. Honestly, I can’t believe I put off listening to this for so long -- it’s a fantastic bit of bleat.

7/10 Stephen Customer rating (no review), 28th September 2017


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.