Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | Only 1 person has said they love this record: be the 2nd!

It's odd to think that there was a time when Paul Weller was a daring musician. This fourth album by his '80s group the Style Council takes in jazz, piano ballads, upbeat funk and classical. Lord knows what he was thinking but the album is more loved in hindsight than it was at the time when it flopped pretty disastrously. 

  • LP £17.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 180 ?
  • 5734121 / White coloured heavyweight vinyl reissue LP on Polydor. Remastered at Abbey Road with original packaging
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Confessions Of A Pop Group by The Style Council
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!

8/10 Damian Customer review, 5th July 2018

There must have been something in the air in 1988. Two great 'pop' bands of the 80's, Talk Talk and The Style Council, decided to deliver a couple of albums that would effectively start their commercial downfall but provide some of the most magnificent pop music ever recorded. In terms of Confessions of a Pop Group / Spirit of Eden, the real comparison is Side 1 of Confessions; a beautiful mesmerizing whirl of Impressionist/Classical piano with Modern Jazz inflections and hints of ambient washing through. Even the titles on Side 1, notably the Gardner of Eden, reflects the symmetry of these two records, that and the passionately hushed vocals on display telling deeply personal tales of self-examination. Where the comparison breaks down is on side two of Confessions. Here, Weller moves from introspection to some of his most aggressive, full-on biting vitriolic lyrics delivered over, what now sounds like slightly dated 80's Soul, which is such a shame as the lyrics are some of the best in Weller's career.


The Style Council - The garden of Eden (A three piece suite) - YouTube



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.