Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • R'COUP'D / RCPDCD015 / RCPD015
  • Add Fink to your favourites
  • Add R'COUP'D to your favourites
1 review | 5 people love this record: be the 6th!

The long-awaited release from Fink comes in the form of Resurgam. UK born but Berlin based band Fink give a much more mature and relaxed sound to this record, that must surely take some influence from the likes of Newton Faulkner and even Radiohead. This record is available on Double LP and CD and released on 'R'COUP'D'.

  • Double LP £23.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 240 ?
  • RCPD015 / 2LP on R'COUP'D, housed in a 'soft touch' laminate gatefold sleeve with 24-page booklet

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • RCPDCD015 / CD on R'COUP'D, housed in a 'soft touch' laminate 24-page bookpack

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Resurgam by Fink
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Andy Staff review, 11 September 2017

Fink, led by Fin Greenall, return with their sixth album 'Resurgam' which means "I shall rise again" and is taken from a Latin inscription in a 900-year-old church in Greenall’s native Cornwall. The now Berlin based Greenall really has created a sound that seems to echo to that rallying cry of positivity. Not that this is a cheesy album of 'I'm a strong woman pop'. This is way deeper than that. Those who are digging the new UNKLE album will find much to appeal here.

The Fink catalogue has developed over the years, developing the singer-songwriter approach from the earlier productions of Greenall. This is a proper album, the track 'Cracks Appear' is stunning, I have listened to this on repeat over and over, it is enchanting, hypnotic and indeed leaves you with a real sense that you can rise - though to be fair I was trying to rouse myself to get on with some work rather than wrangling with any darker demons. The basic percussion and keys give way to vocals that soar, not in any X-Factor way, but with a measured emotive quality, slightly husky but beautifully so. The beat drives the track along, drawing you in as the message of the song works its magic.

Apparently the production of this album was pretty quick - it was not intended to be that way - with the title track recorded first take whilst warming up. This album retains that feel - its is as if you are sat in with the band whilst hearing them practise - albeit a perfect take on that practice. There is an intimacy to the recording, a rawness that is inclusive rather than off putting.

'Not Everything Was Better In The Past' is more plaintive, a thoughtful remembrance, raw plucked guitar anchoring the vocals. Throughout the album there is personal revelation and redemption; though positivity pervades even the darker moods of the album. Resonant bass, Flood’s own vintage analogue synths, as well as occasional sax is incorporated into the atmospheric themes of the album, whilst skittering beats maintain momentum.

‘Resurgam’ is whole-hearted, soulful, personal. The aim of the group was to make the kind of record that would make the group say; ‘I wish we'd written that’. They apparently are happy that they have achieved that and I would agree, it is an album to be proud of.  



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.