Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Haunting and evocative late night hazy classical is the name of the game from this composer who takes the Caretaker's sense of dissolving drift and applies it to comfortable swathes of strings. It's kind of like listening to a classical station come in and out of view on your grandad's long wave radio on Christmas Eve. It's also snowing. Beautiful relaxation. 

  • CD £16.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 170 ?
  • LTS-032 / Limited CD on Lost Tribe Sound. Handcrafted using a heavyweight reverse printed stock, forming the cover of the 7" x 5" book-style case. Edition of 150 copies including high quality download. Mastered by Lawrence English. Cover artwork by Emile Henge
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


spells by kj 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!

8/10 Staff review, 11 October 2017

Everything I’ve heard so far from the exuberant Lost Tribe Sound label has seemed rooted in grand structures and baroque gestures, yet looking optimistically forward and prospectively neo-modernist. Their latest release is no different. Simple and rustic elements are fused with electronic sounds on this beautiful cd by kj, called ‘Spells’. The sounds are hypnotic and contain architecturally sculpted drones which build in intensity from the ground up, decorated ornately with choirs and magically soft, gauzy textures.

The title track is especially magnificent in this regard, with William Basinski-esque spiralling loops making a cacophony which will drone you into submission / sleep. Elsewhere, the moods and generally dissolving nature of the soundscapes may remind you of a distantly orchestral-sounding Caretaker. Absolutely terrific stuff once again.



Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7749 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.