Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Debut full length from Berlin based experimental artist Pan Daijing. Lack is made up of from painstakingly going through and editing field samples and recordings of her own improvised performances from touring the world. A lot of it is really quite disconcerting, from Pharmakon-esque brutality to harrowing organic sources and operatic vocals.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £15.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • PAN79
  • PAN79 / LP on PAN. Mastered by Rashad Becker at D&M, featuring photography by Ralf Marsault, and artwork by Bill Kouligas

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • Lack by Pan Daijing


Lack by Pan Daijing
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 10 August 2017

Where to begin with ‘Lack’? Pan Daijing gives so much of herself to her music - channeling all the complexities and emotional dynamics of the human condition into her work. This record intimately captures the joy and terror of what it means to be human - all of the primal emotions articulated through sound in a cathartic mode, resulting in an album that she likens to a “psychoanalytical process”. These tracks are as though she’s stared into a mirror that’s reflecting right into the core of her soul, and what comes out is both gorgeous and unsettling. Dark, harsh sounds sit alongside some beautiful and dramatic vocals, reminiscent of the visceral work of Diamanda Galas. Strings, electronics, field recordings, etc. are all utilized to devastating effect - painting a remarkably intense self-portrait.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.