Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Sub Pop / SPCD1212 / SP1212 / SP1212X / SPCS1212
  • Add Wolf Parade to your favourites
  • Add Sub Pop to your favourites
1 review | Nobody has said they love this record yet: be the 1st!

This first album in seven years from these reconvened indie rockers showcases their energetic brew of glam prog and synth rock with their signature rousing choruses and chaotic arrangements firmly in place. The years off seem to have given them a new lease of life resulting in an uplifting blast for uncertain times. 

  • Double LP £22.99 £18.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • SP1212X / Limited indies only white vinyl 'Loser Edition' 2LP on Sub Pop
  • Includes download code

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • Double LP £18.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • SP1212 / Black vinyl 2LP on Sub Pop
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £4.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 50 ?
  • SPCD1212 / CD on Sub Pop

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • Tape £7.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • SPCS1212
  • SPCS1212 / Cassette tape on Sub Pop

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Wolf Parade - Cry Cry Cry - wanna see 'em?


Cry Cry Cry by Wolf Parade
1 review. Add your own review.
Nobody loves this record. Be the 1st!
6/10 Robin Staff review, 04 October 2017

Hi. Um. Could this be a little better, please? Thanks. I’m not about ready to let go of one of my favourite indie rock bands yet, even if their discography has already been detailing a steady decline into uselessness. Dan Boeckner and Spencer Krug made one of their genre’s most exciting ever records in ‘Apologies to Queen Mary’, a toe-for-toe futurist and medieval cataclysm that wonderfully clashed their songwriting styles. They followed it up with two records with the same tension but none of the songwriting, and then split into separate camps, working their personal aesthetics without contradictions from the other.

The funnest thing about a Wolf Parade record is hearing Krug and Boeckner wrestle, and that’s the only reason ‘Cry Cry Cry’ really feels like one. Seven years on from ‘Expo’, it opens by making a point of itself, riding in on one of Krug’s decadent slices of melodrama. A piano-driven spookfest right out of his recent Moonface psalms, it follows with a punchy, straightforwardly rocking tune from Boeckner in “You’re Dreaming”, as if trying immediately assimilate their two solo styles back into the WP format. The result is a spirited and deranged collection worthy of their oldest days, but only in the choicest of places.

Unfortunately the songs are never gonna be quite as there as they used to be: the chiming, pre-festive “Valley Boy” is as nice a Krug song as he’s ever written, but it runs out of ideas quick, retaining none of the proggy, stop-start energy of earlier Wolf Parade. At his best, Boeckner makes simple, transparent rock songs sound bizarre, but tunes like “Incantation” largely sound like Spoon on autopilot. There are moments of that old-school fantasy magic -- the squelching and squirming “Weaponized” is quite glorious in its ability to play off Boeckner’s forward-momentum songwriting with odd, pantomimic change-ups -- but these moments of languishing, doubting, weird Wolf Parade feel second to a band who could playing most of these songs alone. I pray that with further listens it grows into a horrible symbiotic monster of a record.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.