Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Warp / WARPCD288 / WARPLP288 / WARPLP288X
  • Add Mount Kimbie to your favourites
  • Add Warp to your favourites
1 review | 6 people love this record: be the 7th!

As the third album from British electronic duo Mount Kimbie, September 8th released Love What Survives promises to be their most expansive and ambitious yet. Featuring cameos from the Mercury-winning James Blake, just the tracklist highlights the steep progression of this band since their previous 2013 album. Off-kilter indie-dance.

  • Double LP £17.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 175 ?
  • WARPLP288 / Black vinyl 2LP on Warp in gatefold sleeve
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £7.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 80 ?
  • WARPCD288 / CD on Warp in digipak with 16-page booklet

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • Double LP £17.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • WARPLP288X
  • WARPLP288X / Limited white vinyl 2LP on Warp in gatefold sleeve
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Mount Kimbie - Love What Survives - wanna see 'em?


Love What Survives by Mount Kimbie
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 12 September 2017

Mount Kimbie -- Dominic Maker and Kai Campos -- have certainly expanded their blueprint since the days of 2010 debut ‘Crooks & Lovers’ with its largely post-dubstep inflections. Their sound has gained an energy and urgency strangely lacking in their sophomore effort, 2013’s ‘Cold Spring Fault Less Youth’. Aggressive rumblings and bleeps reminiscent of a concerto of car alarms coupled with a pounding beat open up the track ‘Four Years and One Day’ to kick-start Kimbie LP number 3, Love What Survives. There’s an eruption of post-punk bass line, building into a crescendo of electro noise. Next, there’s the (re-)appearance of King Krule, on ‘Blue Train Lines’ and his usual pained spittings-with-attitude fly over lurching bass and flailing drums. Nice.

There’s an instrumental interlude in the Joy Division-ish ‘Audition’, leading into the gorgeous African instrumentation of ‘Marilyn’ featuring Micachu, another post-punk-mutating-into-Malian bassline and nice muted drumming. ‘SP12 Beat’ opens with what sounds like a thumb piano / Mbira and more lovely melodic bass playing and detailed percussive sounds which rock and sway. ‘You Look Certain (I’m Not So Sure)’ features the lovely voice of Mexican rocker Andrea Balency, an ‘80s electro-rock drum pattern and swathes of textured electronics. It’s a catchy song, too. ‘Poison’ is an Eno / Lanois-ish ambient interlude before Mr James Blake launches into his brand of deep melancholy on a typically delicately-crooned number, ‘We Go Home Together’. Instrumentation is muted here to complement Blake’s yearning timbres.

Synths rattle along and bass rumbles with furious motorik drumming on the very danceable ‘Delta’, the CAN / Faust-like bass that I can’t get enough of underpins ‘T.A.M.E.D.’ and James Blake returns for ‘How We Got By’ -- closing an impressive album with a strong vocal performance, piano drips like thawing icicles and percussive electronic textures bedding the song down nicely. A highly consistent record with delicious moments. Like finding the occasional strayed Lindor in a tub of Quality Street.


Mount Kimbie - We Go Home Together ft. James Blake - YouTube



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.