Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Following on from their long sold out Record Store Day collection of early singles and *that* horrific assault allegation, Manchester lad punk outfit Cabbage return with a five track EP of their increasingly popular indie rock. Now signed to Infectious it looks like we are now in for the long haul. 

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • 10" £8.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 85 ?
  • 4050538310016 / Green coloured vinyl 10" EP on Skeleton Key Records
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £5.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 60 ?
  • 4050538310597 / CD EP on Skeleton Key Records

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


The Extended Play of Cruelty by Cabbage
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
9/10 Benn Staff review, 22 August 2017

Cabbage are a band that many people have heard about, but very few actually listen to. I must admit that up until recently I hadn't really heard any of their music either. Alas, working at a record shop has its perks. I went on to listen to the entire record 'Young, Dumb, and Full Of...' that contains many of the bands unreleased demos and tracks from a time well before we only knew cabbage as the overcooked mushy green s**t that some people have with their Christmas Dinner. (Disclaimer: I am not one of those people - neither should you be). Refreshingly, Cabbage have given the punk-rock and possibly even the hardcore scene in the UK the kick up the a**e it needs. Long gone are the days of 'God Save The Queen'.

The EP starts in the typical fashion that punk-rock is known for: shouting. Which is great, but as you move on through the record towards the middle ground you find A Network Betrayal. This track is up there with one of my favourite pieces of political satire I've heard in a track for a very long time. Whilst not only being humorous, [Lee] Broadbent taps into that angry and passionate streak of youthful political rebellion that we're seeing once again in the UK - the last time possibly being around the time of Thatcher. (Rumour has it that if you say 'Thatcher' in front of a mirror three times, her spirit attempts to take away your basic employment rights). 

As great as this album is, it is important to criticise. The band still needs time to find their place in the world of political music if that is the direction they wish to go. Think Kasabian and the Sex Pistols and you'll get Cabbage. Cabbage need to become Cabbage, not just a (poor attempt of a) comparison of two bands that have done pretty well. However, I've listened to this record on repeat for about three days now, and I've even gone and ordered one myself. Great work.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.