Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

The one man band taken to new heights by German musician Thomas Kuratli. Mixing krautrock’s solid form and an electro tinge of solitude. you could draw comparisons tonally to Crackle and some Charles Hayward solo outings. Recorded in an empty parking lot, the feeling of being in an abandoned outpost is very real. Repress on Bookmaker.

  • LP £18.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • BKM10 / ROBO#123 / Repress LP on Bookmaker Records / Robotic Empire. Edition of 500 copies
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


1 review. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 15 August 2017

This here PYRIT is a dude named Thomas Kuratli, who moved from Zurich to Paris, found an abandoned car park and made an album there about a guy called UFO. Through some bits of Krautrock, electro synths tuned to extra-maudlin and some clever, detailed sound design, Kuratli has made a sad pop album with a huge sense of space (due in no small part to the cavernous concrete structure and its reverb properties it was made in, no doubt).

Pushing a story involving a solo man (Ufo) wandering through deserted, post-apocalyptic terrain who then melts and morphs into an alien machine-like creature (of course), It’s one part desert-blues (especially the well-twangy opener evocative of husk-dry lands, ‘Fade Away’), one part Geoff Barrow / Beak> style kr**t and one further part Terminator soundtrack.  Kuratli’s heavily reverbed, yearningly crooned vocal is a constant feature and blends well with the future-noir atmospherics he’s carefully concocted and curated. He lets his sorrowful Korg keyboard take the lead on the New Romantic dramatics of ‘Bright Eyes’, segueing into the Brad Fiedel-channeling instrumental ‘Q Bird’. Here, the transformation of the central character is taking place.

There remains more sadness peppered with cautious optimism (‘Free’); abject desolation in electro sound-form (‘Time For Wind’) with its lovely layered textures and stereo panning; the Fad Gadget / The Normal echoing ‘Heroes / Everything’, and… a resolution, of sorts. In high resolution, in high definition. Maybe he should’ve made a film too? Just a thought.

Footnote: ‘UFO’ was originally released in 2015 and after much demand appears in this re-press edition of 500 vinyl copies. Enjoy.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.