Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Phinery / PHLP004
  • Add Phinery to your favourites
1 review | 14 people love this record: be the 15th!

Pianist and composer Shinya Sugimoto met with guitars’n’tapes dude Jeremy Young, and then added Julia Kent’s processed cello into their duo mix for some extra magic. With looping and processing and intuitive sound design, you might find it hard to pull Total Fiction apart to its constituent elements again, which just shows the success of the project. LP on Phinery.

  • LP £14.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • PHLP004
  • PHLP004 / LP on Phinery. Edition of 200 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Shinya Sugimoto & Jeremy Young with Julia Kent - Total Fiction - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • Total Fiction by Shinya Sugimoto & Jeremy Young with Julia Kent


Total Fiction by Shinya Sugimoto & Jeremy Young with Julia Kent
1 review. Add your own review.
14 people love this record. Be the 15th!
9/10 Jamie Staff review, 24 July 2017

Well! Something that has wowed me from the outset, this record got its hooks in me from the first track and won’t let go; although I’m so utterly seduced already that I’m not putting up much of a fight. This record is the first fruit of a collaborative project improvised between three exceptional performers: Shinya Sugimoto, Jeremy Young (of Sontag Shogun) and Julia Kent. The compositional heft of the three musicians really shines through, with all textural detail and range of timbres you would accordingly expect given their combined talents.

Let me open this, second, paragraph by holding my hands up (between typing, slowly): it’s really, really hard to unpick all of what’s going on here. Not that it matters when so much magisterial beauty is codified within. What I’m saying is, these guys know what they’re doing. And each has been doing so within, and without, their own sound-niches for some time now. There’s Shinya’s exquisitely understated piano, falling like welcomingly, refreshingly soft raindrops after a sweltering afternoon. Young’s circling and ensnaring guitar and tape effects. Kent’s deliciously warm drones of cello, acoustic yet digitally processed; and all expertly, almost imperceptibly, placed with an expert’s ear for sound design, nuanced with a seemingly limitless breadth of timbre and brush-stroked textural magic. Ear caressing, soothing, reassuring magic.

The most stellar record I have heard in a very, very long time; I rather like it. A lot.


Shinya Sugimoto & Jeremy Young - Fiction 4 (excerpt of TOTAL FICTION by Paul Clipson, 2017) - YouTube


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.