Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review | 4 people love this record: be the 5th!

Stating his point like a brick to the face, the title sums up what this is about, and being politically enraged can aid creativity it seems. Sound and video artist Benedict Drew has a grand list of collaborators, including Otomo Yoshihide, Matt Davis and Rhodri Davies (Broken Consort), and Chris Watson (Cabaret Voltaire). Crawling… is noisy, sodden, and dystopian, but not futuristic. Like trying to tune broken radio.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £14.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • MANA002
  • MANA002 / LP on Mana. Edition of 300 copies with double-sided A3 risograph poster

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Benedict Drew - Crawling Through Tory Slime - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Crawling Through Tory Slime by Benedict Drew
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 05 June 2017

A title apt for our week, our times and pretty much any era of existence, ‘Crawling Through Tory Slime’ is a real tap on the shoulder for our upcoming despair (TBA Thursday). The second in a quickfire succession of debut releases for new label Mana, this is an assertive drone record that starts with an unsubtle slab of warped, acidic ambience and groans through miles and miles of half-pretty sludge. What Benedict Drew has made here is a record of real muk-wading, which makes for a good metaphor for the few years. 

The record’s sounds are themselves a nebulous collation of longform sustains being rattled at the side by plunderous samples and scrapings -- like someone very slowly and gruesomely adding detail to a lovely blank slate, like chalk on a blackboard or mischief in wet cement. Drew segues into stomping beatwork and patches of acid, happily uprooting his record’s gritty sound for moments of bright, beaming energy.  

As its title suggests, this record is full of long pauses and morose plot twists, its sustains sometimes unfolding with little more than the occasional crackle and rubble by their side; at other times it’s an active, swampy mess, kinda like walking through an area thick with poison on Dark Souls. Listening to all the texture is a treat, much like a raging Fis record can be, and might I add: don’t forget to vote, if you want.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.