Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Analogue electro freakouts aplenty from Alek Stark. With multiple releases through Fundamental, Transient Force, and Titan’s Halo, Stark has long had his name carved from modular synths and 808 drum machines. No crossover or genre blending here, just pure, nay, the purest electro. Cold and groovy.

  • 12" £8.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CPU00101100
  • CPU00101100 / 12" on Central Processing Unit

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Blueshifted People by Alek Stark
1 review. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 24 May 2017

You just can’t knock the Central Processing Unit work ethic - they just keep ‘em coming. This time around they’ve pulled in Madrid producer Alek Stark who has been around for a while - since early releases on the legendary Disko B label, a bunch of stuff on Arnold Steiner’s Transient Force, Last Known Trajectory etc. I think his latest ‘Blueshifted People’ is like the first we’ve heard from him since 'Titan's Cycle 808 Syncs In C Minor'. An EP that featured Drexciya’s Gerald Donald remixing as Heinrich Mueller, which gives you a general idea of the vibe here i.e electro / Detroit sci-fi techno of the same flavour labels like SCSI AV and Satamile used to peddle back in the day. There’s certainly something of the Drexciyan style / influence to these tracks but they’re far from the straight ahead clones that seem to shamelessly rip them off. I can definitely hear the warmer Carl Craig Psyche/BFC thing in here too as mentioned in the text from the label, particularly in the ghostly ‘RMB 56’ which gives the EP a soulful edge despite it’s robotic / futuristic sound - it’s far from cold and sterile. You can almost imagine that androids / AI have developed emotions and are composing the track. I’m assuming the track titles are the names of stars, fitting in with the overall celestial mood of these tunes. The production all round is pristine, with super crisp 808’s, lovely glassy, silvery synths and squelching basslines. There’s a really nice continuity and flow to the EP, with the tracks sharing a similar palette throughout - making it a sweet listen from beginning to end if you’re not a DJ that just reaches for a particular track or two. Check if you dig Dez Williams, Lab Rat XL, Silicon Scally, Q-Chip, Cygnus etc.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.