Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Another suite of electroacoustic trickery from Helm, who is very reliable with this sort of thing. World In Action features field recordings of Snaresbrook Crown Court alongside blurts of free-jazz woodwind, Valentina Magaletti’s percussion, and stacks of electronics. Hard to pin down, so just follow the journey. 12” on The Trilogy Tapes.

  • 12" £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • TTT055
  • TTT055 / 12" on The Trilogy Tapes

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



World In Action by Helm
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 24 May 2017

Laughed my ass off when I clocked the artwork of this record - that ‘World In Action’ logo takes me back to the days when TV’s were proper massive, took up half of the living room, had fake wooden laminated sides and only four channels. As a youngster it was an often terrifying window to the outside world of current affairs. The latest Helm EP on The Trilogy Tapes is like an episode of said show created by Luke Younger - documenting the Brexit referendum result and really capturing all of the chaos and confusion as played out through the news, social media etc. the endless tweets, memes, an overload of emotions, statistics and a whopping dollop of widespread disbelief, pessimism and despair.

Opening track ‘Blue Scene’ is like a huge dense black cloud appearing overhead, where under the shadows unintelligible conversation comes through squawking free jazz, the bleak cloud momentarily disappears and makes way for an uplifting spiritual jazz loop - a moment of optimism that descends back into the chaos of a million voices speaking at once - information overload - like a load of honking geese each trying to be heard amidst the chattering. ‘Candy’ is like the sound of heavy industry slowly collapsing as industrial machines struggle along to the end of their shift, slowly weeping as they visualize a future of them being decommissioned. Determined to persevere, they crank back into action for the clanking broken techno of ‘World In Action’. By the time we reach the EPs closing cut ‘After Dark’ we’re lost, fumbling around in pitch black, travelling at speed to a destination unknown.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.