Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Music On Vinyl take a look at Trojan’s back catalogue and pick a couple of releases for reissue. Duke Reid Rock's Steady compiles many great reggae and rocksteady artists, including tracks from Phyllis Dillon, Alton Ellis, Three Tops, The Techniques, and Tommy McCook. Limited copies, but a perfect pairing for the summer.

  • LP £18.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 185 ?
  • MOVLP1910 / Classic Trojan LP reissued on Music On Vinyl. Edition of 750 numbered copies on 180g orange coloured vinyl
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Duke Reid Rock's Steady by Various
2 reviews. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

9/10 Tony Customer review, 23rd June 2017

Really well pressed re-issue of a wonderful Duke Reid compilation.

I'm not sure what masters they used for this but there is a lovely depth and warmth to the sound.

The vinyl certainly sounds better than the CD version by some distance.
Although of course the CD has extra tracks, the original track listing is preserved on the Vinyl.

This is a very enjoyable introduction for anyone interested in The Duke's Rock Steady catalogue which is characterised by infectious and sweet rhythms with stron lyrics.

Really hoping that more reggae re-issues are in the making.

Great service from Norman records as well. This is the 1st purchase I have made with them and I will definitely be using them again.

Great stuff!

8/10 Jack Customer review, 7th June 2017

Duke Reid's studio band consisted of some of the best musicians on the island such as Gladstone Anderson, Ernest Ranglin, Hux Brown, Tommy McCook etc. Treasure Isle had some of the top vocalists and vocals groups of the era such as Alton Ellis, the Techniques, Phyllis Dillon, the Paragons, the Melodians,and the Ethiopians to name only a few. Treasure Isle's sound is often compared to the Motown sound in Detroit. Plus all the tracks are taken from the original master tapes for the best quality sound.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.