Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Ole Coltrane was recorded in 1961 by John Coltrane’s remarkable quintet at the time (Reggie Workman, Elvin Jones, McCoy Tyner and Eric Dolphy), with the very welcome addition of Freddie Hubbard and Art Davis. Now there’s a line-up. Three pieces that explore Spanish and African themes. LP reissue on Atlantic.

  • LP £18.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • 0081227945213 / 180g vinyl reissue LP on Atlantic / Rhino

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Olé Coltrane by John Coltrane
2 reviews. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

8/10 gbar Customer review, 8th May 2017

As much as I enjoy the sounds of the boundaries of free jazz being pushed to its limits, Coltrane's run of albums from My Favorite Things to A Love Supreme is in my opinion my favourite period of his, and Olé Coltrane is a good example why. This is one of the more Miles Davis-influenced entries in his catalogue, and you could easily compare this to Davis' Sketches Of Spain, and much like Davis, he abandons traditional jazz methods and decided to use modes for much of the album. The 18-minute title track sets the mood of Olé Coltrane in a explorative nature than his previous blues-fuelled releases. It may not be characteristic of Coltrane but his Herculean saxophone work is all over it with spellbinding drumming and fitful pianos that evokes a Spanish aura. The 10-minute "Dahomey Dance" harkens back to his previous bop repertoire, and it's a playful nod to his past while looking to the future. The last track "Aisha" is a haunting ballad that brings the pace down a notch, and is a beautiful, tender piece that brings a gentle end to the album. Olé Coltrane remains as one of his finest musical statements in his catalogue, and the exotic, restrained nature of these three performances works to the album's benefit.

9/10 Demetri Customer rating (no review), 22nd November 2017


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.