Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Oneida super-drummer Kid Millions’s solo project Man Forever has thus far been a focused exploration of pure percussion sounds, but his new record Play What They Want expands the palette a little bit, including voice and other instrumentation from Laurie Anderson, Yo La Tengo, Mary Lattimore and more awesome artists! Kid Millions never disappoints, and the new approaches of this album only give him more ways to wow us. On Thrill Jockey.

  • LP £17.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 175 ?
  • THRILL441LP / LP on Thrill Jockey housed in a spot UV gloss varnish sleeve
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • THRILL441CD / CD on Thrill Jockey in 4-panel mini-LP style gatefold package

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Man Forever - Play What They Want - wanna see 'em?


Play What They Want by Man Forever
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

8/10 gbar Customer review, 2nd December 2017

The output of Man Forever (aka drummer Kid Millions) in the past has usually been an exploration of pure percussion sounds, but Play What They Want is probably his most accessible record to date. The addition of an ensemble cast adds layers to the percussive wall of noise, including Yo La Tengo on the opening track “You Were Never Here”, which starts like a jazz samba before becoming something spookier and noisier. Laurie Anderson provides spoken vocals and violin on the 10-minute centrepiece “Twin Torches”, which also features Kid Millions’ most complex drumming performance to date. "Debt and Greed" is more playful, and its lyrics and vocal melodies beg to be sung by David Byrne (of Talking Heads), while “Catenary Smile” is a ballad of sorts with a slow vocal performance amidst Gregorian ambience and rolling percussive textures. Engaging, clear and grandiose throughout, Man Forever has created an innovative, imaginative and joyous album thrives on anarchy without chaos.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.