Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Depicting Matthew Edward’s return to England, and Birmingham after living in California for two decades, the follow up to 2012’s The Fate, Folklore shares a loving theme reflecting the previous work’s title. This indie-folk-pop is tinged with simultaneous adoration and sadness at returning to from where you once came. Featuring guest players  who have worked with the likes of PJ Harvey, Brian Eno, and Captain Beefheart.

  • LP £14.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 150 ?
  • GDNLP014 / LP on Gare Du Nord Records
  • Includes download code
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Folklore by Matthew Edwards & The Unfortunates
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 24 May 2017

Yum. Tower blocks. If records were awarded a score based solely on tower block on sleeve this would get a ten.  As it is Matthew Edwards makes literate, wordy and cinematic pop that recalls the likes of Nick Cave and the Leisure Society.  There's noisy bits ('Lazy' is a particularly difficult swallow) but mostly this is churning folk noir that on the splendid title track has something of Michael Head & the Strands about its hushed 60s influenced folk.  

Edwards and pals create atmospheres, often recalling England on a damp afternoon particularly on the misty, murky 'We Arrived At The Mountain'. There's perhaps something of the darker moments of the Triffids or the Go Betweens in here. Bleak, just like I imagine Edwards felt when he travelled from California where he'd been living for 20 years back to his native Birmingham - a journey which seems to be documented on the opening title track.

I like this, poetic and wordy. And the sleeve would look good on my wall.    


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!


  • Folklore by Matthew Edwards & The Unfortunates


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.