Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Weird World / WEIRD087CD / WEIRD087LPX / WEIRD087LP
  • Add Richard Dawson to your favourites
  • Add Weird World to your favourites
1 review »

The new album from Richard Dawson is a notable new epic from the Tyneside master, featuring more guest musicians than ever before. Peasant’s songs are all set in the pre-medieval north-east, with each title naming a figure: ‘Weaver’, ‘Herald’, ‘Beggar’. It’s the most fully-fledged work yet by Dawson, and it's out on Weird World.

  • Double LP £19.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 200 ?
  • WEIRD087LP / Heavyweight black vinyl, gatefold 2LP on Weird World
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £7.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 80 ?
  • WEIRD087CD / CD on Weird World

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • Double LP £22.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • WEIRD087LPX / Limited indies only, heavyweight yellow coloured vinyl, gatefold 2LP on Weird World
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Peasant by Richard Dawson
1 review. Add your own review.
29 people love this record. Be the 30th!
9/10 Robin Staff review, 01 June 2017

“A dank and dreary song”. This is how Richard Dawson describes “Hob”, a tail-end track on new record ‘Peasant’, and he isn’t totally wrong. Picks meet strums like someone shaking at their shackles, the song eventually marrying a droning string morgue to a misty, never-ending verse of shimmering gloom. It’s maybe the most wretched thing he’s written; it meanders into an early grave because nobody wants it. And yet: it is sweet, and it is sentimental, tumbling through itself while describing a father observing his child and everything that makes them the same and different. It makes sense that this track would make up a dirge corner of this epic, aspirational tragedy of an album, one that sounds as messy and turgid as it does euphoric and triumphant.

Dawson has never been shy to the sweet and the sentimental, but this record announces itself on those terms. “Ogre” is something else. Breaking through Dawson’s guitar picks is an all-age's choir, jubilantly blowing out a medieval chorus that sounds both terrified and victorious. The second half of the song is a monolithic climax that sees them trade their pagan anthem with Dawson, who in turns growls and whimpers medieval practices ‘til his imaginary town is done burning. He claims parts of this song came back around in writing for the EU referendum, and both the video and song speak to a great emotional outburst, of confusion and anger and seismic hope, all part of him but belonging to the legions singing beyond him. For the first time his music sounds like a community, or at least addresses it with a booming collapse.

On this record, it sounds like Dawson is meeting people for the first time, like an RPG character exhausting dialogue with NPCs out of loneliness. His solo guitar tangles still sound ever so solitary, but they’re met with shimmering drums, elastic strings and the harp of old collaborator Rhodri Davies. The desperately sad “Soldier” sees an empathetic response to his chimes of “I am tired, and I am afraid / my heart is full of woe” as the song snaps into rock action. “Beggar” is a low-key, familial song that turns its tearful vocal line into a hopeful fanfare through twinkling guitars and a throbbing drumbeat about five too big for its song. These moments perfectly fill Dawson’s music, giving it a wholly new gravitas. If you’re been to a Richard Dawson show and seen how much his music means to people, and how communal it can feel, then you might understand that these moments, pop in their practice, feel pretty crucial.

These are his best songs yet, but they feel like his and ours. They’re full of the usual crooked accidents, with “Shapeshifter” and its roundtable picks sounding like Dawson of the old, only met with handclaps and jaunting. The devastating lament of “Prostitute” is met with a psychedelic swirl of noise in its background that sees Dawson as wrapped up in his events as we are. “Scientist”, another tune full of band singers, is some ritualistic shit that both harkens back to the more ominous moments of ‘Nothing Important’ while making it newly massive. It’s hard not to listen to this record and feel overwhelmed about ten times, as if we're part of that familiar medieval faction Dawson is bound to and fretful for. 


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.