Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

3 reviews »

Swedish producer Rolando Simmons makes tracks that would have been right at home on Richard D. James’ Rephlex imprint if it was still going, but Aphex Twin is a fan, and you’ll instantly see why. The similarities and influence is prominent, squelching acid basslines, pristine percussion and floating oddities. A must for Aphex fans.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £19.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / U.S. import 180g vinyl LP on 141414. As played by Aphex Twin in Texas.
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Yuo're Life by Rolando Simmons
3 reviews. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 13 April 2017

So, Rolando Simmons then. Swedish producer. Richard D James is a fan. Sounds like… hmmm, I dunno. Squelchy acid basslines, razor-sharp hi-hats and generally fluttering percussion, plenty of micro-edits and chopped up vocal parts floating around. Anyway, Aphex Twin is a fan -- “as played by Aphex Twin in Texas”, it says here.

Odd juxtapositions of words and creative use of punctuation in the track titles, but no numbers just letters. Opening track ‘Yuo’re Life you’r tsois’ (see, I told you!) goes along at a fair lick. ‘Axis of Evil’ has a pretty, gently floating keyboard melody that drifts over the minimal squelch.

‘Wifey’s Lush Pingu Plush’ (crazy!) is very much in Aphex territory with overlapping mini-rhythms and fast synth melodies and very crisp percussion. ‘Sól’ is fast but dreamy. Yes, that is possible and here's the proof! Lush chords :)

All the ingredients are there. But remember, it’s definitely not Aphex OK? Good.

9/10 Josh Customer review, 2nd May 2017

I've been using the first track as an audio source (it was the first file in the folder) to try to program DSP effects with and it's been looping for days and i haven't gotten tired of hearing it yet. The rest of the album is really chill too but i keep getting interrupted by phone calls and stuff when I listen while I bike back and forth across idyllic Gothenburg Sweden. Social media wrecks me too because somehow it has convinced me that my opinions matter. I bought the vinyl of this in spite of the fact I own no turntable, as I do for the music that I like the best. It's nice that my download included the vinyl-only track as well. Trackermatte rocks, Norman Records is a boon in my world, Got my eye on 141414, Would buy again.

8/10 Paul Customer rating (no review), 2nd May 2017


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.