Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Finnish experimentalist Ilpo Väisänen, one half of Pan Sonic and Angel, is somewhat a feature of the Mego family, returning to the label with his follow up full length for Communist Dub. A similar approach can be felt, deconstructed dubby electronics that break and mangle until they become individual noises, falling in and out of form. Basing these compositions on economic crises and the instability of capitalism, obviously.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £16.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • EMEGO225
  • EMEGO225 / LP on Editions Mego
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Capital Dub, Chapter 1 by I-LP-O In Dub
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 27 April 2017

If you haven't already clocked it, I-LP-O in Dub is Pan Sonic / Angel fellow Ilpo Väisänen. He premiered this alias in 2015 with his 'Communist Dub' album for Editions Mego and now returns to his Marxist-themed vision of dub with follow-up ‘Capital Dub, Chapter 1’. Something about that title makes me think this isn’t the last we’ve heard on the matter either...

There’s a tantalising decaying quality to these productions - as though fully formed versions of them have been eroded through reductionist dub “mixing desk as instrument” methodology. Sharp edges are exposed on rusty metallic rhythms with sand and grit in the mechanics as rudimentary drum machine rhythms play like gears - all warped cranks and missing teeth. The effects give the sounds a ghostly quality, as though they’re evaporating.

I have to confess to being initially underwhelmed on first listen - despite being a huge fan of Ilpo’s stuff - I think I was subconsciously hungering for the bass weight of dub. On returning to the music and getting to grips with it I’m getting pretty into it. There’s a sort of minimal skeletal dub / techno framework on a few tracks that’s deceptively simple over which lots of spectral details and nuance emerge once fully submerged. Opening track ‘Paradise Capital’ comes off like Plastikman’s ‘Spastik’ played by trains in a metal echo chamber. The relatively straight forward ‘Invisible Hand’ is particularly satisfying where beats sizzle and spark like pure electricity. Some tracks like ‘Greyzone Economy’ and ‘Parecon’ have a brutally utilitarian, dismal quality. The album closes with churning noise, dissonance and feedback of ‘Grace of Collapsing Healthy System’.

Overall this is a pretty strange and unique record - something like the story of the dark side of world economics told through sound.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.