Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • 4AD / 4AD0008CD / 4AD0008LP / 4AD0008LPX
  • Add Aldous Harding to your favourites
  • Add 4AD to your favourites
5 reviews »

New Zealand's Aldous Harding came to prominence with her self titled debut from a couple of years ago  - a word of mouth hit which showcased her ghostly laments and eerie torch songs. Well now she is back and she travelled all the way to Bristol to record it with PJ Harvey collaborator John Parrish. Perfume Genius lends a hand too. Nice. 

  • LP £15.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 155 ?
  • 4AD0008LP / LP on 4AD
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £7.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 80 ?
  • 4AD0008CD / CD on 4AD

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £15.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • 4AD0008LPX
  • 4AD0008LPX / LP on 4AD + bonus indies only one-sided 7" of brand new track ‘Elation’. NOT SEALED
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Party by Aldous Harding
5 reviews. Add your own review.
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 18 May 2017

Bloody hell she's quiet. So the opening 'Blend' is nice, then. Her voice literally pours into my ears as if someone was pouring a honey concoction into them. That voice makes me want to bite into something. Her words are sparse over fingerpicked guitar, homemade percussion and weird whistling noises. That Knock Knock Knocking on Heavens Door riff gets re-badged on 'Imagine My Man' which is led by some Beatles-y piano and she is singing in a lower register here more marmalade than honey. What strikes me on initial listen is that she seems to sing in a different voice on each song. There's a versatile nature to her singing  - the music isn't that different, generally based around beautifully fingerpicked guitar  - but I can't get a handle on who Aldous Harding wants to be. The creepy 'Party' which is either love song or a tale of being abused  - it's blurring the lines - is sung in a 'little girl' voice which has something of Bjork about it but the inflections are certainly a little too studied to create truly moving music.  

If I knew who the real Aldous Harding was I might know which of the tracks are put ons. For now, the moments she is Nico such as on the beautifully sparse ''I'm So Sorry' are my favourite sections of the album. She's unafraid to throw curveballs into her music such as some ridiculous Kate Bush backing vocals or a sax solo. 'Horizon' is the only time she moves worryingly into Florence territory but that kind of histrionics is generally an anomaly.

The lack of a particular personality could be affecting my enjoyment somewhat. She needs to work through and fine her own distinct voice perhaps rather than trying on hats but this is good. No doubt about it.    

9/10 JEAN Customer rating (no review), 28th September 2017
10/10 Mazoué Customer rating (no review), 3rd June 2017
10/10 Nick Customer rating (no review), 1st June 2017
10/10 Tim Customer rating (no review), 1st June 2017


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!


  • Party by Aldous Harding


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.