Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Flowers Must Die unveil their debut full-length album Kompost! This record finds the Swedish group delving deep into the psychedelic heritage of their homeland, melding it with an improvised approach towards sweet groove. It’s a dense but bright sound, full of colour and flair. Kompost is released by Rocket.

  • LP £17.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 175 ?
  • LAUNCH113 / LP on Rocket
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Kompost by Flowers Must Die
2 reviews. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
7/10 Robin Staff review, 26 April 2017

Proggy weirdos Flowers Must Die expand their minds, and also their discography, with their debut record. It’s on Rocket and doesn’t it just know it: this swirling, dipping and diving record of all-ages psychedelia has shades of many of the label’s mainstays, meshing them together like a kid with no understand of what palettes to paint with. It sounds like there are about five hundred people in this band, and for ‘Kompost’, that is no bad thing.

I love, to quite the nth degree, that Flowers Must Die do not take their genre hallmarks too seriously. This is a repetitive, churning swirl in places, but those corners of numbing guitar riffology are always matched with a heavily stirred broth of distortion, weird gloopy keys, unhinged bass grooves, fun fills, random vocal interpolations and solo wankery antics. Listening to “Hit” I feel like I’m watching a psychrock band fight anti-gravity, their pockets of acid flying upwards to the rafters as they try and keep the show going.

It’s the onslaught of noises that’ll bring you in, but ,the music can catch you, too: “Why?” melds a bassline with a squelchy, ambling but knowing guitar riff, generating a track that sounds angular but also extremely easy to latch onto. “Hej Da” has truly smelly keys that would be welcome, with open arms, in any number of old school psych rock bands that only strangers on RateYourMusic know about -- but they’re tethered with a rhythm section so sweaty and serious, and a lovely selection of folksy flute and guitars so ridiculously pastoral -- that you can’t help but want to swelter with them.

If you like your psychedelic people to be unhinged with whatever they can get -- i.e. the “together at last!” of all combos, horns and feedback, on “Don’t You Leave Me Now” -- then I think you’re good to go with this one. 

8/10 David Customer rating (no review), 7th June 2017




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.