Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 7 people love this record: be the 8th!

Tenth birthday release from the Brownswood label, who have decided to celebrate the occasion with ten key cover versions from their quality roster. Represented here are the likes of Mala, Giles Peterson and his Havana Cultura Band and Owiny Sigoma Band, reinterpreting music by Can, Art Blakey, Sun Ra and other heavyweights. Double LP release on Brownswood Recordings.

  • Double LP £20.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 205 ?
  • BWOOD159LP / 2LP on Brownswood Recordings incl. Sonzeira, Mala, Zara McFarlan, Owiny Sigoma Band, Elan Mehler etc.
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Brownswood 10 Versions by Various
1 review. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!

9/10 Andy Customer review, 23rd May 2017

A superb release celebrating 10 years (a bit tardy as I'm sure the label started in 2006) of Brownswood. What better way to celebrate than call in the best talent in the label's roster and get them to do some cover versions.

That idea may not set the pulse racing, but I'm actual fact there are some real treats on this album. Highlights include a fiery version of Can's Vitamin C by the Owiny Sigoma Band & a lovely extended jam of a cover of Think Twice by Gills Peterson's Havana Culture Band that is remixed by 4 Hero.

A real killer though I Sonzeira's version of Southern Freez - taking the original's sunshine Boogie vibes and giving it a laidback tropical make over. Lovely stuff.

That isn't a duff track here, elsewhere there are tracks written by Sun Ra, Rashaan Roland Kirk and performances by José James, Mala and Soil & "Pimp" Sessions.

Superb stuff.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.