Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Subtext / SUBCD011 / SUB021B
  • Add Ellen Arkbro to your favourites
  • Add Subtext to your favourites
1 review | 8 people love this record: be the 9th!

Ellen Arkbro recorded For Organ And Brass on a particular kind of rare church organ which allows for certain harmonic relationships: indeed, we are into advanced microtonal territory with these two compositions. The long tones of the organ and the brass trio Zinc & Copper intertwine to create potent “slow and reduced blues music” (in the words of Arkbro). For Organ and Brass is released by Subtext.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £13.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 135 ?
  • SUB021B / Black vinyl repress LP on Subtext
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £8.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 85 ?
  • SUBCD011 / Repress CD on Subtext

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7 days but delays are possible.


For Organ and Brass by Ellen Arkbro
1 review. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 13 April 2017

A short shout out for a very good record, here: Ellen Arkbro has made a wonderfully doomy and ancient-sounding drone record that will appeal to fans of blaring organs, big stoical buildings and huge dread. The informatively titled ‘For Organ and Brass’ is one for fans of Aine O’Dwyer's organ improvisations and those who love to hear people hold chords like they’re heavy weights that need pushing back. It’s a record that focuses in on the sustains, eeking emotive implications out of the short changes that happen between the long sounds.

There’s also plenty in the way of harmonic investigation, as Arkbro attempts to weight brass sounds (supplied by trio Zinc & Copper) against the organ, following the record’s monolithic opener with “Three”, which subs out the organ for a different sound performing the same seismic ritual. It’s a massive drone record that feels, despite its sparsity, highly theatrical.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.