Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Ninja Tune / ZENCD239 / ZEN239
  • Add Ninja Tune to your favourites
2 reviews »

This is a total dream-come-true collaboration for fans of pulverizingly heavy music: Dylan ‘Extra Low Frequency Version’ Carson’s Earth project and Kevin ‘Skeng’ Martin’s The Bug, producing together. After two tracks together last year, the pair have now made a full album, and it’s a seething, bristling blast of a listen. The 2LP vinyl edition comes with an exclusive bonus 12” with a JK Flesh remix.

  • Triple LP £21.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £5.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 220 ?
  • ZEN239 / Gatefold 2LP on Ninja Tune. Includes the 'Below Heaven' 12" feat. JK Flesh (Bundled exclusively with the LP version of the album)
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • ZENCD239 / CD on Ninja Tune

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Concrete Desert by The Bug vs Earth
2 reviews. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
9/10 Laurie Staff review, 23 March 2017

Those who were tantalised by that recent collab 12” from these two are about to start drooling little doom-dub pools onto the floor, cuz they’re back with a full set of heavy music to jiggle your innards, on Ninja Tune, which I still find very weird. Oh it’s got a kick drum on it? We’ll take it. You’re gonna be the next Scruff!

Funky good times music lives everywhere but here. When you’ve got these two in a room together, you can expect crumbly distorted guitars, yawning drones, deep deep basslines and minimal beats all married in a cold dark cavern. There are some definite tinges of US desert rock from Carlson, laying down some lazy, desolate guitar parts before you remember it’s a collab album with The Bug and a rumbling bass starts wubbling away underneath a percussive pattern. I’d imagine that this is a more stoner-doom version of the album that King Midas Sound and Fennesz tried to make last year. Tried.

Everything’s lathered in some noisy grit, try to imagine massaging that into your scalp for a moment. Is it unfair to describe this as a more crushing, voiceless grandchild of Massive Attack’s Mezzanine? I can almost hear your anguished cries of ‘coffee table music!!!1’ through the internet. It’s obviously much, much more texturally raw than that, almost to the point of being nightmarish, but that’s how you like it. Remember that Sunn O))) & Boris collaboration album? Have a listen to ‘Broke’, it’s uncanny. Hail to the amp noise.

OH and I forgot to mention, there's a bonus 12" with the vinyl version that includes a remix by JK Flesh, which unfortunately isn't on our promo so it'll be a surprise to us all I suppose :)

10/10 Erik Customer rating (no review), 23rd February 2018


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.