Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 5 people love this record: be the 6th!

The self taught composer from Minsk Ales Tsurko sets his sight very plainly on progressing contemporary classical music. Melding techniques learnt both academically and not Transliaciya features elements of shoegaze, drone, ambient electronica and post rock masterfully manipulated and woven with modern classical, into something fresh.

  • CD £6.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 70 ?
  • PS34 / Hand-assembled CD on Preserved Sound. Edition of 150 copies
  • Only 3 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Transliaciya by Ales Tsurko
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 21 February 2017

Preserved Sound once more come up with the compositional goods, this time introducing me to the work of Ales Tsurko. Tsurko is a self-taught composer from Minsk, wonderful, he’s also the founder of the Society for the Development of New Music, most impressive.

Outside of his work promoting contemporary classical composition and new music talent, Tsurko has somehow found time to create this elegant and exceptionally crafted suite of warmly affecting music for sparse strings and electronics.

Violinist Tatiana Volynets and violist Anna Skripnikova take turns to haunt with their searching, meandering string vibrations, with Olga Yemtsova steadily forming a backbone with her grounding cello shapes and Tsurko uses found sounds to provide extra textural grain. The clarity of the various timbres ringing out throughout the disc is astonishing, but I’m not surprised as Ian Hawgood mastered the thing and he’s done his usual immaculate job. By the fifth track of sorrowful strings, I’m reminded of the sort of craft Max Richter brings to his music -- by which I mean, I’m on the verge of tears. On a Tuesday. And it’s not even lunchtime yet.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.