Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Poppy Nogood, who is based in New York and named for a Terry Riley piece, presents Mood Paintings, an accurately-titled set of four tracks. A whole host of instruments were used in the creation of this album, but few can be easily distinguished from the abstract expressionist shimmer of the whole. Unhurried musical atmospheres, released by Preserved Sound in an edition of 150 CDs.

  • CD £6.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 70 ?
  • PS40 / Hand-assembled CD on Preserved Sound. Edition of 150 copies
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Mood Paintings by Poppy Nogood 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!

8/10 Staff review, 01 March 2017

I’m actually really glad Clint chose this CD -- the latest in a clutch / slew / influx of releases from ambient-post-rock-neoclassicists Preserved Sound -- for me to review this afternoon, as I feel way too caffeinated for any electro-pop just yet. So Poppy Nogood composed the four long-form, interconnected pieces comprising this album -- the follow-up to the wonderfully minimal and emotive ‘Music For Mourning’ -- along with a trio of musicians completing the ensemble. Cello, clarinet and oboe can all be heard within the elegant glides, glissandos and dramatic swells which make up the intricately woven tapestry of these Mood Paintings.

There are unmistakeable dramas (just when I thought it was safe to turn the volume up) emerging from these miniature portraits and increasingly widescreen dioramas as the music spreads, forcing itself out blissfully as if torrents of water across scorched plains. String tremolos mingle with hammered piano. Impressionist soundscapes insinuate upon the listener -- good headphones recommended -- containing some of the deep hues of Rothko for shade and light splashes of pointillism to make up a bigger picture like say, Georges Seurat did. True story. Oh and hey, I really wasn’t expecting the gorgeous guitar melody and understated bass on track three. A beautifully textured and thoroughly absorbing listen.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.