Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Fire / FIRELP469
  • Add Pere Ubu to your favourites
  • Add Fire to your favourites
2 reviews | 14 people love this record: be the 15th!

The Fire label have repressed three of experimental art-punks Pere Ubu’s underappreciated later albums, and included some rare bonus material as well. Drive He Said includes Raygun Suitcase, Pennsylvania and St Arkansas, albums which capture the band’s freeform intensity and their complete refusal to conform to genre. This four LP box-set also comes with a download code.

  • LP box set £49.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £6.30 ?
  • NormanPoints: 500 ?
  • FIRELP469 / 4LP box set with new masters of the albums 'Raygun Suitcase', 'Pennsylvania' and 'Saint Arkansas', plus a disk of extras 'Back Roads', poster and download card. 
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Drive He Said 1994 - 2002 by Pere Ubu
2 reviews. Add your own review.
14 people love this record. Be the 15th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 29 March 2017

If you think I'm going to review the whole thing then you are sadly mistaken - I'm not made of ears you know. Here is another box set from marvellous art punks Pere Ubu. This time concentrating on their later less known work it's hard to fathom that this was made after their pop period ('Cloudland' etc). Obviously after appearing on late night telly as some kind of point and stare circus act for sleep deprived Americans they retreated back to their art punk wilderness.

I'm listening through an eight track sampler and almost everything is of interest from opener 'Urban Lifestyle' with it's churning, unbreakable rhythms to the severely off kilter '333' which sounds like it was recorded in a cardboard box. Completely unique  - you'll never hear anything like this again. 'Lisbon' is one of their way out there clatter punk art pieces  - like Tom Waits as voices by Donald Duck  - and 'Beach Boys' proves that they still had pop moves in them when they felt like it, twangy guitars mixed with weird synth twiddles and an ear catching chorus are a good combination. I never ever want to hear their version of the aforementioned Beach Boys 'Surfer Girl' again but it does come from 'Back Roads' a disc of extras so I'm letting it off.    

9/10 Neil Customer rating (no review), 16th April 2017



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.