Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

BurningTapes is a project capitalising on the wild levels of current interest in old 80’s horror movie soundtracks by creating a whole new album of big and dark synth music that taps straight into the dramatic tension of your favourite obscure slasher flick. Blood Runs Dry is released by Burning Witches Records in a limited edition of 250 180g LPs.

  • LP £17.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / 180g vinyl LP on Burning Witches Records. Edition of 250 copies
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Blood Runs Dry by BurningTapes 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!

8/10 Staff review, 09 March 2017

Such is the interest in 80’s horror synth soundtracks that the well of original recordings has begun to run somewhat dry and so a bunch of people have found the only way to alleviate the situation is to make their own music. Novel.    Now I’m no fan of 80’s horror synth but I’m enjoying this record by Burningtapes. It could because tracks like ‘Eva’ have a pulsing and pulsating feel to them with a ‘live band’ sound reminiscent of what Mogwai could come up with if they pushed themselves further in this direction. Elsewhere there’s enough fizzy synths to reach your weekly fill level but ‘Don’t Ask His Name’ exemplifies that it’s not just about how fizzy they can make the synth, they use post rock dynamics to plummet the track downwards on a really infectious ‘chorus’ as synths and guitars buzz about each other. I like the fact that guitars are here too - welcome.     It’s kind of as if John Carpenter formed a post rock band. the dynamics on stuff like ‘Her Bones’ is really great  - a tangled web of pulsating sounds bouncing around your ears. And it rocks.....kinda. 


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.