Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Is there any artist more needed in the world right now than Anohni? If anyone has access to Donald Trump's ears then please play '4 Degrees' over and over again into them until they bleed sanity. This follow up EP was obviously written before all the recent lunacy but couldn't be better timed. Lead track 'Paradise' is an excellent vibrant call to arms and with Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never back on production this is a superb mix of angry dirge and electronic banger. The remainder is a mixture of new songs and material performed live. Essential.      

  • 10" £12.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 130 ?
  • RTRADST833 / 10" EP + CD on Rough Trade
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • RTRADSCD833 / CD EP on Rough Trade

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Paradise by Anohni
1 review. Add your own review.
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 15 March 2017

It’s possibly the end of the world soon and who better to soundtrack the bleakness than Anohni.

‘Hopelessness’ was one of those records that took risks and was all the better for it. Sometimes it fell flat on it’s face but mostly it worked perfectly. Then juxtaposition between Daniel Lopatin and Ross Birchard’s thrilling electronica and Anohni’s emotive voice was sometimes almost too much to bear at times and this continues on ‘Paradise’ a track that like the earlier ‘4 Degrees’ is one part disco banger, one part protest song. ‘Jesus Will Kill You’ pushes further the weirder bits of ‘Hopelessness’ and this is the direction I hoped Anohni would take and continues the splintered electronica and voice shredding of that album’s ‘Violent Men’.

This follow up EP continues the same themes as ‘Hopelessness’  - basically that the world is fucked - with a real vicious anger at times. Only ’You Are My Enemy’ harks back to the gentler sounds of Antony and the Johnsons and if the EP comes across as experiments for future directions then this is pretty much what it is. It’s the sound of a truly brave and unique artist continuing to push boundaries resulting in a fabulous and essential annexe to the LP. 


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.