Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 6 people love this record: be the 7th!

Hanni El Khatib decided to throw away all his past experience for Savage Times, forcing himself to explore new instruments and new ways of working. In other words, this is genuinely experimental music. After stacks of studio discovery, these are the finest 19 tracks from the sessions, presented on CD or as a triple 10” box-set. Out on Innovative Leisure.

  • CD £10.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-5 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 110 ?
  • IL2040 / Digipak CD on Innovative Leisure

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-5 days but delays are possible.

  • LP box set £44.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • IL2040V
  • IL2040V / Limited indies only 3x10" set on Innovative Leisure, housed in custom hardcover booklet
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Hanni El Khatib - Savage Times - wanna see 'em?


Savage Times by Hanni El Khatib
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 16 February 2017

Man, I wanted to be an asshole and start this review all “here is a garage rock man doing the thing with the chords and the bouncy drums and the overuse of the word baby”, but Hanni El Khatib is only half that guy. Here, he follows up the pacey ‘Moonlight’ with a record of stirring dichotomies, landing his straight-up rock ‘n’ roll action with an eruptive, weirdo experimental style that suggests he’s far away from the cool guy Poochie I always assumed.

At times, there’s a breeziness to this record that feels totally incidental, El Khatib sorta moving between certain grooves with little sideways remarks. On “Gonna Die Alone” he functions over an excellent back ‘n’ forth bass line, basically iterating the title over and over again with little concern for its implications. “Paralyzed” has hooting harmonies over sparkly glockenspiel and a guitar style that ‘RAM’-era Daft Punk would happily champion.

At other moments, though, interspersed through the record with no due consideration for sequencing, El Khatib suggests a totally different side, He’s furious, noisy, and personal, screaming his way through “Born Brown”, a song about growing up in the USA as a first-generation American with parents who came over. He screams about their sacrifices over dissonant synth whirrs, torrid beats that ripple their discontent higher and higher.  “Come Down” is an ominous experimental offshoot, its finger-clicks and sleuthing groove matched with a chiming ambience and bumbling synth before becoming a chirpy good time. “Gun Clap Hero” uses string swells and a telegram-like alarm to dramatically and panoramically stylize his sound into something far, far different from its norm.

This record is shooting off in directions -- that it sounds this slick at times is revealing, but El Khatib’s lyrics are freshly political, his music newly enfranchised and his melodies estranged from a bluesy garage sound once known. Worth your time and head scratches.


Hanni El Khatib - Savage Times - YouTube



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.