Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 6 people love this record: be the 7th!

Nico Niquo plays around with some strange vibes on In A Silent Way (apparently no relation to the Miles Davis album). Snatches of bass music and other dancing genres are cast afloat in a digital sea of vaporwave and new age electronics, leaving the listener feeling like part of the internet. In A Silent Way is a vinyl release on the Orange Milk label.

  • LP £18.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • NN001
  • NN001 / LP on Orange Milk

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Nico Niquo - In A Silent Way - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



In A Silent Way by Nico Niquo
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Laurie Staff review, 01 March 2017

You’d be forgiven for thinking that this is a vaporwave cover of that Miles Davis album. I know, the album art is more a vapey version of Bitches Brew, but still, wow. How can this guy live with himself. Shameless. Well, it’s on a label called ‘Orange Milk’ so drink that one up in the meantime.

After spending 5 minutes trying to work out whether this is 33 or 45, we finally get to the musical content of the vinyl record disc. Enter some otherworldly, glassy chords on opener ‘Space Inside Your Mind’, which does indeed leave some nice trails of silence between each swell to offer some even chiller respite from the chordal ultra-chill. As side A progresses, you’re treated to a steadily unfolding Oneohtrix-esque synthscape evoking modern fragmented structures just as much as choral new age synth. The bubbling 5/8 arps of ‘Rendered’ are just bliss, crapping on the majority of 15-minute komische revival crap (this tune running at just over 4 mins) and containing the exact right amount of melancholy.

The second side sort of mirrors the first, starting breathy and moving to calming arps but with a jazzier feel to the chords, and with a simultaneous increase in 8-bittiness in the synth sounds. That title track, so beautiful. So it turns out that Miles Davis would probably have dismissed this as tonal nonsense (by the time of Bitches Brew, anyway), which means that you can listen to it in peace. I’m always trying to listen to stuff that Miles Davis would have probably enjoyed so it’s nice to be free from that. What am I talking about, anyway, this is delicious. RIYL that Dream Catalogue stuff.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.