Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Taking material from their first two albums, Earthling Society return with an injection of energy and grunt previously missing, sending gritty space rock timbres hurtling into a fizzing stratosphere. The UK outfit have received praise from luminaries of the scene and evidently have responded with this slab of wax, issued by Drone Rock Records and continuing the band’s partnership with very decent independent labels. Those seeking the thrills of fuzz, splashy drums and ever deepening levels of wide eyed psyche will be in good hands.

  • LP £16.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • DRR007
  • DRR007 / LP on Drone Rock Records

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Zen Bastard by Earthling Society 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
28 people love this record. Be the 29th!

7/10 Staff review, 24 January 2017

Mathadelic psych hedgehogs Earthling Society have created a dusty symphonia here, combining the traditions of a repetitive, droning rawk with weirdass timings, languishing synth chords and jittering percussion. Call it space rock, but there’s something super strange going on in the record’s title track -- it makes its proggy jump to lightspeed after a glorious set up, the band submitting to their corniest hard rock predilections with wailing harmonies and what can only be described as a  laser-blasted synth trill.

Your mileage for this one will vary based on how weird and ridiculous you’re willing to let your psychedelia get -- at points their setup of synth-tinged hard rock sounds medieval, at times it sounds sci-fi, and mostly it just sounds lost in a wide open space. “OutsideInTime” phases our leading man so that his vocals swirl around as if communing with us from the afterlife, the dense mixing of instruments dissolving him completely. Over its twelve minute course it becomes exceedingly solo-heavy, making no apologies for its proggy excess.

I think… you should listen to this record high? That nineteen minute closer certainly hints at such a course. It’s a windy barrage of dissonant solos and conflicting climaxes, sorta initially following a melodic plan of action before becoming one of the most chaotic attempts at psych rock I’ve ever heard. Uh. Fuck me. This record.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.