Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Injazero / INJA004
  • Add Heinali to your favourites
  • Add Injazero to your favourites
1 review | 8 people love this record: be the 9th!

Oleg Shpudeiko has suggested that the existence of this album is linked to a therapeutic journey of recovery from emotional darkness. Given the depth of emotion present in the rich sonic world it presents, this is easy to imagine.

The album utilises various methods of production and structuring, blending techniques from Shpudeiko’s modern-classical work with approaches to composition you might find on a film soundtrack. The electronic elements are prominent, with circular repetitions bringing the work close to the very outer reaches of techno and more ambient forms of noise, sat comfortably in the world of soundscape-informed music alongside Abul Mogard or Ben Frost.

  • LP £19.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • INJA004
  • INJA004 / 180g red vinyl LP on Injazero

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Heinali - Anthem - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Anthem by Heinali
1 review. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 07 February 2017

Darkly evocative, rich slabs of ambient sound from the machines and processed guitar of Kiev’s own Oleg Shpudeiko now, on his record Anthem. Pulses and rumbling, rolling synth stabs open the album; ‘Anthracite’ is an ominous introduction to Heinali’s sound. Subtle hints of Jon Hopkins-like melody underpin the rupturing torrents of synth noise; ‘Shuffle’ begins with Oneohtrix-y bursts, attacks and decays, with fragments of choir and bubbling chimes and tinkles effervescing through the thick haze of noise. Oleg’s ear for a tune here bears out work history, with numerous credits for television and film scores liberally peppering his cv. Think Ben Frost with smatterings of Hans Zimmer.

Then there are the gorgeous guitar textures scything through waves of electronic backwash, on ‘Away’. Quieter moments have thoughtful piano motifs punctuating the storm, such as on the breath-bating moment of stillness, ‘Holding a Cloud.’ Organ drones take turns to vie for your attention, cycling through an ear-grabbing repeato-melody atop a subtle bassline, on ‘Hauntology’. Further, gorgeously-fluttering synth melodies and cut-up Cocteau-sy guitar are to be found in abundance on the multi-textured ‘You Gave Me Butterflies’. All in all, a cathartic journey to soundtrack any ongoing therapies or reflective times, current or future.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.