Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

The Band Whose Name is a Symbol and whose music sounds like a composite of The Stooges, fuzzy psych rock and a drum-circle freakout. They’re now a dozen LPs deep and have only put stuff out on vinyl, so one to snap up early for the kudos alone. ‘Loomis’ is a particularly thrilling slice of doomy garage. Only 350 copies ever.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £14.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CF067
  • CF067 / Limited LP on Cardinal Fuzz. Edition of 350 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • Elevator by The Band Whose Name Is A Symbol


Elevator by The Band Whose Name Is A Symbol
1 review. Add your own review.
10 people love this record. Be the 11th!
7/10 Robin Staff review, 11 January 2017

The Band Whose Name Is A Symbol getting reviewed at The Record Store Whose Name Is A Man. A worthy combo. ‘Elevator’ is the third in a famous series of records by this band that are linked together by me having heard them, and while I’ve always found them quite the versatile psych unit, this one has them double down in the genre’s sacred mottos. Deep into the fuzz and pedals, they here craft rock hypnosis in (mostly) short bursts that is at turns numbing and atmospheric.

“Eat the Maraca” is my favourite name for a song ever. They don’t so much eat it as they do play it, for a little bit, and then continue on their business of riffing and rolling. As far as their guitars go, they really make ‘em whine -- the outro on this one is one of the best cries ever, collapsing in a fret-flickered frenzy but ultimately sounding heavy in emotion. “Loomis” is psych rock with some very front-and-centre hand-drums, which play weirdly against the endless coatings of distortion, but hey, it makes for a nice change in the psychedelic process.

This record largely exists in service to “Bridge of Regret”, a sixteen minute opus wherein the band get to try their hand at a slice of languishing drone rock, building from a sustain into a lamenting free jazz of horns into a slow, steady and ever-so studious psych groove. All the while they keep all the elements that have built the song, matching the thrashing peak all the way with a whining tenor sax. If they’d just released this song on its own, it’d be enough -- it both knocks the socks off and locks in the mind. I'm sure I'll hear from these kinda-weirdos soon.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.