Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

2 reviews | 8 people love this record: be the 9th!

A new album of rich, melodic drone music, in which Gideon Wolf enlists a multi-instrumentalist ensemble to assist him. Year Zero is packaged in ludicrously lush ensemble of materials: a CD nestled inside letter-pressed cotton covers, with incense, an old vintage map, an even older vintage religious insert and a download code, all in a sealed bag. That whole ensemble is put together by Fluid Audio.

  • CD £19.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • 038
  • 038 / Limited edition, numbered CD on Fluid Audio in beautiful packaging. Incl. inserts, prints, signed vintage map, incense etc.
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Gideon Wolf - Year Zero - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Year Zero by Gideon Wolf
2 reviews. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
9/10 Jamie Staff review, 20 December 2016

Fluid Audio label maestro Dan Crossley has masterminded the latest collection of affectingly warm and fuzzy drone from Gideon Wolf, with a package that our Tom has already described as “ludicrously lush”. And indeed it is; should you be so tempted you’ll find the CD nestling within letter-pressed card inside a sealed wrapper with postcards, cutting from a vintage religious pamphlet or historical Christian tome and even a signed section of antique map. In case you get lost. In one particularly mountainous region of rural Scotland.

Whether out in the wilds or ensconced in your comfiest armchair, the music Wolf has put down with a careful assemblage of fellow musicians on this artefact will hypnotise you, if you’re anything like me and enjoy lots of supremely played cello and violin. Alternating between sombrely contemplative and soaringly, dizzyingly light, these guys have made a work of extraordinary richness yet compositional simplicity. Smooth and stately codas build up to frenetic entanglements of luscious strings and it all unravels deceptively gracefully. It adds up to an addictive confection which should slip down as easily as a mint crisp after a tofurkey dinner.

8/10 Richard Customer rating (no review), 24th January 2017


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.