Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Earthen Sea is the solo project of Jacob Long, also of the punkish outfit Mi Amo. The music he makes as Earthen Sea however is fairly different, being a form of dub techno that leans so far into ambient music that at times you can just forget about the dancefloor. Big wam sweeps of sound will swallow you up white the 4/4s keep you moving. New album An Act Of Love is released by Kranky.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • CD £13.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 140 ?
  • KRANK208 / CD on Kranky

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £16.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • KRANK208LP
  • KRANK208LP / LP on Kranky

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


An Act Of Love by Earthen Sea
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 21 February 2017

Big, sweeping, ebbing and flowing waves of sound emanating from the machines of Earthen Sea; my current treat and offering from the nice people at Kranky. Jacob Long’s alias and muse describes itself as ‘dub techno’ -- and indeed, things become more dubby and techy as the record progresses. From that promisingly foggy opening (helpfully entitled: ‘The Present Mist’), the sound opens up, atmospherics are more spacey and a 4/4 beat kicks in complete with a lovely crisp hi-hat and washes of ambience which I will now describe as… ‘delicious’, to match the taste of the crisps I just ate in lieu of a full lunch. Don’t worry though, I’ve got a halloumi sandwich waiting for me in the fridge.

Things become more delicate, more sunlit across the ensuing three tracks -- Long’s music seems content to bathe itself in a luxurious glow. While those beloved electronics continue to luxuriate, beatless, an undertow is softly pulsating and increasing in strength. On ‘Exuberant Burning’ the kicks return, accompanied by backlit ambient throbs and splashes. ‘Above The Clouds’ is a vaporous introduction to the most recognisably Dub! Techno! track on the record: ‘The Flats, 1975’. Kicks and hats cruise along upon waves of warm pads, chords rising to lift the track to a higher altitude. It actually grooves as well as sparkles. I think an old flame may have just been rekindled. An Act of Love indeed… Thanks, Jacob.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.