Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Jóhann Jóhannsson is known for his modern composition skills, often working with stately piano and subtle electronics. But for his original soundtrack to the big new film Arrival, he follows the plot’s lead by centering his compositions around the voice. The results can sometimes recall Holly Herndon relocated to a dramatic orchestral context: e.g. really rather interesting. CD release on Deutsche Grammophon.

  • Double LP £25.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 255 ?
  • 4796786 / 2LP on Deutsche Grammophon
  • Includes download code

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £12.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 125 ?
  • 4796782 / Digipak CD on Deutsche Grammophon (different artwork to image shown)

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Arrival (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) by Jóhann Jóhannsson 1 review. Add your own review. 9/10
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!

9/10 Staff review, 05 September 2017

Arrival, in my humblest of opinions, is one hell of a movie. From the complex themes of terminal illness and romance, to the struggles that humanity would face; both politically and linguistically when faced with first contact. (Spoiler alert!) The beings - who we later find out are named ‘Heptapods - arrive in a dozen pods all over the globe but attempt contact in an obviously unknown text. Amy Adams portrays Dr Louise Banks a languages lecturer at a university in the USA, and in turn is called upon to help decode the alien language. She discovers that once you understand their language you begin to perceive time and life as they do - interesting stuff.

But wait. This is a review of Jóhann Jóhannsson’s music score for the film, not the film itself.

The film score begins with Matt Richter’s On the Nature of Daylight. The reason Jóhannsson allows this piece to be such a crucial part of his score for the film is perhaps because the record that On the Nature of Daylight features The Blue Notebooks, was written in the run-up to the Iraq war. This piece of music usually plays when we see Dr Banks on screen, the films also portrays Banks as a strong pacifist who believes that the best way to communicate with the ‘Heptapods’ is via linguistic understanding not military power as the Chinese and Russians are wanting. The film and the film score follow this pattern throughout. Each track has meaning and use Jóhannsson’s classic method of writing and crafting music. His use of drones, electronic sounds and a heavy emphasis on strings allows for a complete and utter submersion into what is happening on screen and the emotions that Jóhannsson and director Denis Villeneuve are trying to portray in your ears.  

As with most film scores, it is difficult to write about how brilliant (or not so brilliant) the music links up with the cinematography without actually viewing the film, too. This isn’t just a film score, it is a piece of art that can be both appreciated with or without the visual aid. More importantly, even if you didn’t know what the film was actually about, you would more than likely catch onto the whole alien theme.

Overall this is a marvellously good soundtrack and I highly advise that you listen to the score in detail after watching the film. What makes this score so good, is that Jóhannsson understands that the visuals and context are about language, hence he has made the score a language in itself. Music is a language and this soundtrack shows that off in the grandest of displays. If I could give it 10, I would. But nothing is perfect. 



When it comes to vinyl we're confident we can match any price. Read more.



Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7704 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.