Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

New Picnic Time is the third album by Cleveland, Ohio’s experimental art-rockers Pere Ubu. It was originally released in 1979, it continued a run of classic albums that also included The Modern Dance and Dub Housing.The sessions for the album were so stressful that the band split after recording only to reform with Mayo Thompson replacing original guitarist Tom Herman.

LP £15.99 FIRELP363

Reissue LP on Fire.

  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • Includes download code.
This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible. Will arrive after Christmas.


New Picnic Time by Pere Ubu
1 review. Write a review for us »

8/10 Jack Customer review, 2nd April 2018

This is the original line-up of Pere Ubu at its most improvisatory, nearly every song clearly built up spontaneously in the studio around some core musical idea. David Thomas riffing on words ("Dishes! dishes! dishes! All for love of you...."), Maimone's killer bass lines, Herman and Ravenstine working it out in the best free-jazz tradition. Although it isn't jazz at all. And then all the mounting but masterfully controlled tension is released with "Jehovah's Kingdom Come", Thomas' most beautiful pop song until the Cloudland album a decade later.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.