Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Jacques Brodier is a Frenchman with a nigh-on unique sonic approach. Many years ago he designed and built his own instrument, the Filtre De Réalité, a remarkable contraption of metals, strings, glass, sand, radio waves etc. The sounds he coaxes from the device, which sound like an idiosyncratic take on certain fields of electroacoustic and musique concréte, are documented on Xhos De Villemahu, a double LP out on Penultimate Press.

  • Double LP £31.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • PP21
  • PP21 / Gatefold 2LP + booklet on Penultimate Press. Edition of 500 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Xhos De Villemahu by Jacques Brodier
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
7/10 Robin Staff review, 15 November 2016

Jacques Brodier is a master of sonic slapstick and muted frenzies, and here proves so over two fucking discs of big record called ‘Xhos de Villemahu’, crafting a stuttering and ambling sound design that once again proves his vision in turning music into a multitude of things: a history, a weather system, a sci-fi novel, a problem… his music collects and discards so many sounds that it’s really up to your ears what his story is.

‘Xhos’ was recorded over a seven year period and feels tethered together only by its expert recording job, which is shown in how beats ricochet and rumble gorgeously off of their walls, or in how clean even the harshest bit of rainy grain sounds -- when things are harder to hear and less in the main, it is born of intention. Beyond that, Brodier’s experiments in this period feel wild and random, switching from self-perpetuated rhythms and string abstractions to discarded robot voice drones at will.

It’s funny hearing Brodier actually play things, as on the odd track where you can hear a synth-based (or synth-sounding) instrument enquire into melodies or at least notes, before sort of collapsing all over the place in the spirit of their surrounding environment of blustery noises and discombobulated voices. It’s a journey but it is not a destination, but Brodier’s music offers a sort of clattering catharsis that comes from its own lack of explanations. Comes with a book of texts and pictures for extra dazzle.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.