A big heavy box full of Neil Young albums, all pressed to heavyweight 180g vinyl. Discs 8.5 to 12 of the Official Release Series encompasses Young’s later-70’s albums, including the excellent live-with-Crazy Horse double whammy of Rust Never Sleeps and Live Rust. Plus three other albums. Five albums on six LPs, packed in a box by Warner Bros.

Limited Vinyl Deluxe LP box set £119.99 0093624920458

Limited 180g vinyl 5 album box set (6 discs). CONTACT FOR NON-UK SHIPPING COST.

  • Limited edition
This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Currently ships in 2-3 weeks but delays are possible.


Official Release Series Discs 8.5-12 by Neil Young
1 review. Write a review for us »

7/10 Tom 18th December 2018

Official Release Series Discs 8.5-12 is not a very inventive title for this collection so allow me to come up with a better name:

Two Great Live Albums, A Good Album, An Average Album, and a Crap Collaborative Album with Neil's Friend and Mortal Enemy Stephen Stills. The two great live albums are Rust Never Sleeps and Live Rust (which both feature solo acoustic and full Crazy Horse tracks) and they are both essential. The good album is Comes a Time which finds Neil in country mode (without going full-on Nashville with it). The average album is American Stars N' Bars which is mainly known as the album that has 'Like a Hurricane' on it. And finally the crap collaborative album with Neil's friend and mortal enemy Stephen Stills is Long May You Run, credited in typical 70's fashion to the Stills-Young Band. This one is pretty much dreck and the ensuing tour for the album was so depressing that Neil just dropped out unceremoniously on a whim. That should tell you all you need to know about the contents of the record.

The overall average means this is a good collection but you might want to save your money and buy the worthy albums individually.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.