Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Danish solo artist Katrine Stochholm flaunts her vivid imagination with this shimmering experimental electro-pop record. Stochholm's love of poetry and weird rhythms contribute to a wildly creative universe of wacky instrumentals and sweet Danish vocals. An 8 track album which contains the 2016 singles En Dejlig Aften and Fugle Krybdyr Rovdyr Padder. Released as Vinyl LP on the Sound Of Perpetual Astonishment label.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £17.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 180 ?
  • / Limited gatefold LP on Sound Of Perpetual Astonishment. Edition of 300 copies
  • Only 3 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Danser Til Radio by Katrine Stochholm
1 review. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 25 October 2016

This is the kind of dream sequence I can deal with. She’s been doing it for a while now, but Danish producer and once Under Byen member Katrine Stochholm continues to make symphonic fantasylands on ‘Danser Til Radio’, a record that uses its instrumental flourishes and electro-pop additives to create a brimming landscape -- fraught with tensions and taking in lovely summer breezes, this record goes there and back again.

Making use of anything from a heartbreaking string arrangement to a playful beat a la Domenique Dumont, this record feels both serene and silly, wonderful in both directions: “De Danser Til Radio” shows both of Stochholm’s inclinations at work, its hissing beat and synth loop counterbalancing violin swells and a high-octave vocal lament. “En Dejlig Aften Stille Solvklart Vandet” feels like a marriage of Thom Yorke’s sleepy house, James Blake’s piano-thrummed electronics and melodramatic pop songs of elsewhere, sublimating a week’s worth of sadness into an infrastructure of glitches and mutters.

I’d say you have to get into Stohholm’s rhythm to fully appreciate this record, but she has a habit of teleporting out of your line of sight. The record retains its oneness in the sort of muted way it’s being presented, with no song breaching the roof that’s been placed over it. Still, it’s easy to see these pop songs have been developed with different laboratory approaches: A song like “Skovensomhed”, based entirely on a humming melody and funtime percussion a la CFCF, is vastly different from the subdued and internalised “Om Mod”, or the stoical piano ballad “Jeg Husker Alt”. You’ll enjoy this; you’ll turn a lot of corners.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.