Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Cocaine Piss taste just precisely as nasty as they ought to with a name like that: thrashing super-speed punk that spits riot grrrl-style righteous bile in yer face. Oh, and The Dancer was recorded by Steve Albini, so there are no airs or graces about this production. Fierce! Released by the Hypertension label.

  • CD £13.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-5 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 135 ?
  • HYPE026 / CD on Hypertension

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-5 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £19.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • HYPE026LP
  • HYPE026LP / LP on Hypertension

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


The Dancer by Cocaine Piss
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 13 October 2016

Never done cocaine; occasionally I’ve pissed. That makes me half qualified for this one, and while I’m getting pleasantries out of the way I’ll quickly mention that it’s Steve Albini recorded, which could mean anything but probably just means he was in the corner trying to catch a Geodude (the most Shellac pokemon) on Pokemon Go. Anyway, you up for some silly hardcore? This tragicomedy of riffs, slapstick feedback and blast-beats offers a lighter take on crust punk that should appeal to just about anyone who enjoys fun.

Quick songs with a super hyped singer going fucking hard on her vocals, this record wonderfully juxtaposes its moodiest riffs with the silliest breakout solutions: the sludgy, ground-to-a-halt title track mixes with vocals way the fuck to the other end of proceedings, shrieked and shouted and shambled. A grumpy bassline opens “Plastic Plants” before the song breaks down into entrails of hardcore. There’s a boozy gang vocal on “Elegance” before the record’s most engaging lyric -- “Now… you look like a robot” -- comes swinging in. Yes come on. There's... a lot going on... maybe? I don't know, I've just been bopping along. This record is fun fun fun so get ready ready ready for some fun fun fun and I'll leave the rest for you.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.