Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

This is the duo of Connan Mockasin and Sam Dust (LA Priest/Late of the Pier) in collaboration. They simply can't be serious these two (just look at that sleeve) but both have form when it comes to making slinky Prince-like soft pop.  Check out the video for 'Lying Has to Stop' where the come across like some kind of sleazy take on Flight of the Conchords.  

  • LP £15.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 160 ?
  • WEIRD078LP / Heavyweight vinyl, gatefold LP on Weird World. Includes A3 poster
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • WEIRD078CD / CD on Weird World

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Soft Hair by Soft Hair
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
7/10 Laurie Staff review, 27 October 2016

Soft Hair is a new grouping of smirking freakster Connan Mockasin and Prince worshipper LA Priest, yep, I’m already quaking in my boots. A customer just came in to buy this and told me that it’s got that tongue-in-cheek sexy music feel of Mockasin’s most recent one Caramel which featured such hits as ‘This Is My Bed Too’ and ‘See You At Midnight Naked And Stuff’.

That’s problematic for me as I’m a massive fan of the earlier breezy psych band stylings of Forever Dolphin Love, but there you go. A few of those LA Priest tracks off Inji were good so let’s have a look. Speaking of looks, that cover. Wow. The opener ‘Relaxed Lizard’ is kinda pure trash, but definitely done with a cheeky sideways glance as if it’s all a big joke that you may or may not get - they don’t care. They just want to morph their voices to effeminate realms which I like, the blurring of gender boundaries in music and art. Shame the song’s shit.

The record takes a breather for a few, the slow, muted disco and wiggly waggly guitar of ‘Jealous Lies’ sounding like ‘Get Lucky’ on ketamine. This drops straight into an interlude before the silky smooth ‘A Goood Sign’ which is very Mockasin, all laid back and encroaching on your personal space. Get outta here, ya creepshow.

The production on this record is excellent, and for its short duration of 35 mins you are treated to some weird vocal magic, awkward stuttery keyboard melodies, fat drums and sparkly wavy guitar lines. Just not so sure about some of the songs. At least they’ve got a sense of humour, but hopefully that’s not misplaced...




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.