Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

4 reviews »

Kate Bush’s mind-blowing run of 22 live shows in 2014 was a joy to those who were there: this release documents what went down in luxurious detail. Before The Dawn stretches live recordings over 3 CDs and 4 vinyl records, carefully arranged to fully express the concepts of the show. Released by Fish People.

  • LP box set £58.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £6.30 ?
  • NormanPoints: 590 ?
  • 0190295920166 / 4LP on Fish People
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD box set £17.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £2.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 180 ?
  • 0190295920173 / 3CD on Fish People

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Before The Dawn by Kate Bush
4 reviews. Add your own review.
16 people love this record. Be the 17th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 24 November 2016

First of all the box looks amazing. Four slabs of vinyl in a super sturdy outer box and wonderfully lavish booklet with photos, lyrics and words on the events from Kate Bush herself. What is lovely about the booklet is it’s personal nature - she has taken some of the photos herself and writes comments about them and about the performances. 

Let’s be clear though  - this is a live album. No overdubs or sorting out the sound after so it is not studio quality. Audience noise is left in as are KB's between song chat. The performances are quite ‘rock’ compared to the studio versions and have ‘stadium’ feel at times, the opening ‘Lily’ is full on rawwwwk with huge singalong choruses and massive guitars but that’s what you would expect from such a big performance. A more intimate sound wouldn’t have worked on such a big stage but would perhaps sound better on record. ‘Hounds of Love’ is pretty nicely done with Bush's voice in quite amazing form. There’s the odd piece of fx thrown on it which is perhaps extraneous and the guitars just stay on the right side of twiddly though I’m finding the musicianship a bit ‘muso’ for my tastes. 

Now, shoot me please but I’m not that much of a fan of KB's later work so most of the track listing is not in my interests. We all know that she didn’t play a greatest hits set at these shows (‘Running Up That Hill’ (absolutely superb) and ‘Cloudbusting’ are here but that’s about it). Phil is happy that the second half of 'Hounds of Love' is well represented but this is a fans-only artefact which delves into her later work and stays there stoically. That said it’s very well put together and the sound is top notch. A more than decent aural representation of an event that possibly will never happen again. 

10/10 Lesa Customer rating (no review), 2nd January 2017
10/10 Colin Jones Customer rating (no review), 23rd December 2016
9/10 Richard Customer rating (no review), 12th December 2016


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.